Club Racquetball team wins 17th national title

Club Racquetball team wins 17th national title

RALEIGH, N.C. ( – Mar. 25, 2014) — The Colorado State University-Pueblo men’s club racquetball team recently won it’s 17th national championship as the ThunderWolves claimed the team title at the 2014 Wilson National Intercollegiate Championships, held Mar. 11-15 here at the North Carolina State University Racquetball Club. 

The ThunderWolves, under the direction of head coach Richard Krinsky, scored 1,676 points to finish atop the standings ahead of much-larger institutions such as Oregon State, Missouri, Arizona State, BYU, Colorado, North Carolina State, Texas, Utah Valley and Penn State, who rounded out the top 10.  The victory over Oregon State, which was by a 101-poing margin, was especially satisfying, considering the Beavers had stopped CSU-Pueblo’s string of nine straight national crowns last year.

Senior Felipe Camacho, a member of the Costa Rican National Team, and sophomore Brad Schopieray, led the Pack.  Camacho won the No. 2 singles crown while Schopieray took top honors at No. 3 singles.  The two also teamed up to win the No. 1 doubles title.

Senior Nick Montalbano and senior Tyler Stone also won the No. 2 doubles title while Montalbano, a member of the U.S. National Team and a coach for the junior national team, took runner-up honors in the No. 1 singles flight.  Stone also finished second at No. 4 singles.

Sophomore Daniel Ulrich and senior Bradley Doss also contributed to the team’s impressive depth as Ulrich took fourth at No. 5 singles while Doss finished sixth at No. 6 singles.

Local fans will have a chance to watch many of the Pack players in action as the International Racquetball Tour will make a stop in Pueblo for the Cinco De Mayo tournament to be held May 2-4 at the at the Pueblo Athletic Club.

Related Item: Tournament Web Site
Related Item: Racquetball Team to train at US Olympic Training Center