Make your reservation for the 2011 CSU-Pueblo Athletics Hall of Fame Induction

Make your reservation for the 2011 CSU-Pueblo Athletics Hall of Fame Induction

Six former student-athletes, one former coach, 1982 national runner-up gymnastics squad and ‘Friends of Football’ among honorees.


Related: Class of 2011 student-athlete inductee career snapshots (pdf)
Related: Coach, special contributor and outstanding team snapshots

PUEBLO, Colo. ( – Nov. 2, 2011) – The Colorado State University-Pueblo Athletics Hall of Fame has selected seven individuals, one outstanding team, and the “Friends of Football” booster group for induction into the Hall as the Class of 2011, the Hall of Fame committee announced Friday.

The Class of 2011 will include former student-athletes Carey Brading (Men’s Tennis, 1976-79), Dan DeRose (Football & Men’s Track, 1981-84), Dennis Jones (Baseball, 1967-70), Niki Toussaint (Softball, 1998-2001), Sherry Vallejos (Women’s Basketball, 1988-92), and Angie Wintz (Volleyball, 1994-97).  Also receiving induction will be former wrestling coach, Doug Moses, the “Friends of Football” booster club, and the 1981-82 national runner-up women’s gymnastics team.

The inductees will receive their formal induction on Friday, Nov. 11 at the third annual CSU-Pueblo Athletics Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, to be held at the Ochiatto University Center Ballroom on the CSU-Pueblo campus.  The inductees will also be recognized on Saturday, Nov. 12 during halftime of the "Hall of Fame Game" between CSU-Pueblo and Western New Mexico at the Neta and Eddie DeRose ThunderBowl.  Prior to the game, inductees and interested individuals may receive a tour of the revitalized Colorado State University-Pueblo campus, as well as participate in a special Hall of Fame pre-game tailgating session at noon.

Tickets to the event are $35 per person, with "Friends of Football" members being extended a discounted $25 admission to the induction dinner. For more information on the event, contact CSU-Pueblo Assistant to the Athletic Director, Ben LoCascio, at (719) 549-2063.

Class of 2011 inductee sketches

Doug Moses

Head coach of wrestling program from 1982 to 2001 … Turned in 12 national top ten finishes and eight top five finishes over 19 seasons … Won seven Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference championships … Coached two national runner-up teams (1985, 1991) … Coached 11 national champions and 64 All-Americans.

Friends of Football

The several-hundred-person-strong organization helped raise over $13 million to bring back the sports of football, wrestling and women’s track and field to CSU-Pueblo in 2008-09 … Upon the addition of these sports, CSU-Pueblo’s enrollment rose by over 25 percent in four years (4,000 in 2007 to 5,400 in 2011) … Responsible for the erection of the Neta and Eddie DeRose ThunderBowl complex, which helped serve as the catalyst behind the University winning the right to host the 2012 and 2013 NCAA Division II National Track & Field Championships as well as the 2012 NCAA Division II Wrestling Championships.

1981-82 Women’s Gymnastics National Runner-up team

Was at the time the second-highest national placing team in school history … Is one of just four teams in school history to place second or higher nationally (1985 wrestling, 1991 wrestling, 1961 men’s basketball) … Coached by Valerie Striggow … Team members included Alison Papadakis, Lorrie Heptig, All-American Kim Villers, Diane Herman, Lorraine Smith, Paula Hooper and Linda Rife.

Former Student-Athlete inductees

Career snapshot information can be found here.