Burpee and Walker named Pack Athletes of the Week presented by Mobile Record Shredders

Burpee and Walker named Pack Athletes of the Week presented by Mobile Record Shredders

PUEBLO, Colo. (April 25, 2018) - Colorado State University-Pueblo's Michaela Burpee (Jr., Union City, Calif.) and Devundrick Walker (Jr., Aurora, Colo.) have been named Pack Student-Athletes of the Week, presented by Mobile Record Shredders.

Pack softball catcher Burpee led the ThunderWolves in a four game series split at Fort Lewis. Burpee went 7-for-16 (.438) at the plate and hit one homerun, two doubles, and recorded four RBIs and scored three runs for the Pack.

Burpee leads the team in average this season (.390) and has played in every game this season. Just announced, Burpee was named to RMAC All-Academic Honor Roll along with three other Pack players.

On the men's side, at the Bryan Clay Invitational, Walker won his heat and clocked a time of 1:48.59 in the 800m to post an NCAA automatic time that ranks fourth in Division II. In the 4x400m relay, the foursome of Dueth Vassell (Sr., Denver, Colo.), Walker, Shawn Horne (Jr., Camp Casey, South Korea) and Thomas Staines (So., Colorado Springs, Colo.) broke the school record for the second time this season. The time of 3:09.72 won the event and ranks fourth in NCAA Division II in 2018.

The softball team wraps the regular season at home against No. 3 Colorado Mesa in a four game series at Rawlings Softball Complex. The ThunderWolves track and field team will next compete at the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Outdoor Championships at the Stermole Track and Field in Golden, Colorado April 27-29. 

– 30 –

As a member of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, Colorado State University – Pueblo competes in 22 varsity sports in NCAA Division II intercollegiate athletics.

Past Pack Athletes of the Week
Apr. 11 - Taylor Christensen/Dakota Popham
Apr. 4 - Jenna McKinley/Fraser Hughes
Mar. 28 - Courtney Ewing/Thomas Pudney
Mar. 21 - Gabby Moreno/Jorge Durate

Mar. 14 - Nia Matthews/Thomas Staines
Mar. 7 - Katie Cunningham/Blake Foerster
Feb. 28 - Angelique Urenda/JaVaughn Perkins
Feb. 21 - Arianna Rohde/Josh Smith
Feb. 14 - Miriam Roberts/Ambrose Romero
Feb. 7 - Katie Cunningham/Cody Johnson
Jan. 31 - Gillian Maness/PT Garcia

Jan. 24 - Jennah Knafelc/Will Newman
Jan. 18 - Hannah Plummer/Kyle Fantin

Jan. 10 - Tuileisu Anderson/JaCobi Jones
Dec. 20 - Taylor Long/Will Newman
Dec. 13 - Angelique Urenda/Thomas Staines
Dec. 6 - Arianna Rohde/Ron Sweeten
Nov. 29 - Katie Cunningham/Mika Nuolivirta
Nov. 22 – Katie Jones/Alec Choury
Nov. 15 – Misha McDowell/BJ Hardy
Nov. 8 – Alexa Eastep/Marcelo Laguera
Nov. 2 - Mackenzie Bean/Emery Taylor
Oct. 19 - Phoebe Pontious/Protus Babaya
Oct. 11 - Melissa Nichols/Neil Tillman
Oct. 4 - Gillian Maness/Tanner Cuda
Sept. 27 - Danelle Dondelinger/Connor Marth
Sept. 20 - Courtney Ewing/Brandon Payer
Sept. 13 - Miriam Roberts/Marcelo Laguera
Sept. 6 - Mackenzie Bean/Fraser Hughes