Pack Men's Tennis serves up third RMAC Brechler Award in program's history

Pack Men's Tennis serves up third RMAC Brechler Award in program's history


COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (July 3, 2018) - The Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference has announced the 2017-18 Brechler Award Winners and in process handed the Colorado State University-Pueblo men's tennis program their third honor in six years and second straight recognition.

The men's tennis program, coached by Mark Schleif, combined for a 3.473 GPA in 2017-18 to earn the honor. The Pack also won in 2016-17 and 2012-13, the first year of the award. The women's tennis program were winners in 2014-15 under Schleif. 

The ThunderWolves went 11-15 this season and were ranked as high as No. 42 in the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) NCAA Division II rankings. The Pack went 3-3 in RMAC play to earn the No. 3 seed in the RMAC Tournament. 

The Brechler Awards recognize the conference's top team grade point average (GPA) in each of its 23 sports. Grades were used from the 2017-18 academic year. All student-athletes that were on the institution's NCAA eligibility list were included in the teams' GPA calculation. The team GPA is calculated by dividing the total quality points for each semester by the total number of credits for each semester. Team GPAs were submitted to the RMAC Office by each institution's compliance administrator.

The award is named after Paul W. Brechler, a former RMAC Commissioner (1976-1990), who along with wife Wanda, were the first inductees into the RMAC Hall of Fame. Paul was also the former athletic director of the University of Iowa and served as Commissioner of the Western Athletic Conference (WAC).

Each team will be presented with a plaque at the 2018 RMAC Hall of Fame and Awards Banquet on Friday, July 13 at the Colorado Springs Marriott Hotel. For more information on the event, click here.

– 30 –

As a member of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, Colorado State University – Pueblo competes in 22 varsity sports in NCAA Division II intercollegiate athletics.