RMAC postseason accolades aplenty for ThunderWolves

RMAC postseason accolades aplenty for ThunderWolves

Nearly every Pack starter recognized as all-conference, four of six postseason awards snagged by ThunderWolves.

Related: 2011 All-RMAC Football Team and postseason awards

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (GoThunderWolves.com - Nov. 16, 2011) - CSU-Pueblo began reaping the fruits of an 11-0 RMAC Championship season Wednesday as the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference announced its postseason award-winners and All-RMAC teams, recognizing four ThunderWolves for major awards and 20 for All-RMAC status.

Lee Meisner (Sr., Sterling, Colo.) and Kyle Major (Sr., Littleton, Colo.) earned defensive and special teams player of the year honors, respectively, while freshman tailback J.B. Mathews (Fr., Aurora, Colo.) earned the Offensive Freshman of the Year award and head coach John Wristen earned his first career Coach of the Year award.

Of the 20 all-conference selections, nine were first-team selections.  Leading the charge was a dominant offensive line, which saw three ThunderWolves earn first-team honors - Ryan Jensen (Jr., Fort Morgan, Colo.), J.T. Haddan (Jr., Craig, Colo.) and Jonathan Jones (Jr., Houston, Tex.).  Also earning first-team honors were tailback Jesse Lewis (Sr., Loveland, Colo.), Meisner, defensive end Grant Jansen (Sr., Colorado Springs, Colo.), Major and punt returner Josh Sandoval (So., Pueblo, Colo.).  Sandoval earned third-team all-RMAC honors as a wide receiver, as well.

Ross Dausin (Jr., San Antonio, Tex.), Mathews, defensive end Josh Mack (Sr., Pueblo, Colo.), Jason Campbell (Jr., Kailua, Hawaii), punter Brandon Kliesen (So., Pueblo, Colo.) and three-quarters of the defensive backfield, including Mark Sterling (Jr., Colorado Springs, Colo.), Jon Bailey (Sr., Fort Morgan, Colo.) and Josh Costa (Sr., Nanakuli, Hawaii) each earned second-team All-RMAC honors.

Rounding out the Pack's selections were Sandoval, wide receiver Paul Browning (RFr., Widefield, Colo.) and linebacker Louie Lozano (So., Whitter, Calif.) on the All-RMAC third-team.

The 20 all-conference selections are the most in a single season in school history.  Additionally, it marks the first time CSU-Pueblo could boast the conference defensive player of the year, special teams player of the year and coach of the year.  Mathews is the third ThunderWolf to earn freshman of the year, but the first to earn offensive freshman of the year.