Dausin named Colorado Sports Hall of Fame Collegiate Athlete of the Year

Dausin named Colorado Sports Hall of Fame Collegiate Athlete of the Year

DENVER, Colo. (GoThunderWolves.com - April 19, 2013) - CSU-Pueblo senior quarterback Ross Dausin (Sr., San Antonio, Texas) achieved a first for a CSU-Pueblo student-athlete, being named a Colorado Collegiate Athlete of the Year by the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame at their annual ceremony Thursday evening.

Dausin, who was selected for the honor ahead of all other male collegiate athletes in the state of Colorado, was honored at the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame banquet at the Denver Marriott City Center Hotel.  He was one of seven Colorado Athletes of the Year to be recognized at the event, which included Professional Athlete of the Year, Denver Bronco quarterback Peyton Manning, and Amateur Athlete of the Year, four-time Olympic gold medalist Missy Franklin.

Other Athletes-of-the-Year selections were collegiate standouts Shalaya Kipp (University of Colorado track and cross country), high school honorees Bonnie Brandon (Cherry Creek swimming) and Wilkins Dismuke (Rock Canyon lacrosse), and Disabled Athlete Recognition Award winner Lacey Henderson (National Sports Center for the Disabled).

The Athletes-of-the-Year selections were honored alongside the newest Colorado Sports Hall of Fame inductees Steve Atwater, Don Baylor, Don Cockroft, Adam Foote, Steve Jones and Stan Williams.  The Colorado Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2013 was selected this past October.

Dausin compiled a 32-4 record as a three-year starting quarterback at CSU-Pueblo (best in school history) from 2010-2012 as he led the ThunderWolves to back-to-back 11-0 RMAC Championship titles the past two years.  The 2012 ThunderWolves not only captured the RMAC title, but was the No. 1-ranked team in NCAA Division II for the final five weeks of the regular season.

Dausin was named the Offensive Player of the Year by both the RMAC and the Colorado Chapter of the National Football Foundation.  He earned All-American honors from the Beyond Sports College Network as he broke nearly every single-season and career school passing records in 2012.  Dausin finished the season ranked sixth in the nation passer rating by completing 68 percent of his passes during for 3,011 yards and 25 touchdowns.  He was also named the Colorado Collegiate Athlete of the Year by Mile High Sports magazine.

Since its inception in 1965, the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame has inducted 222 individuals prior to October's selection meeting for the Class of 2013.  The first class of inductees featured Earl "Dutch" Clark, Jack Dempsey and former Supreme Court justice Byron "Whizzer" White.