CSU-Pueblo still looking to make history this weekend

CSU-Pueblo still looking to make history this weekend

PUEBLO, Colo. (GoThunderWolves.com - Nov. 13, 2013) - As CSU-Pueblo looks to claim its third consecutive outright Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference championship this weekend when it hosts Western State, the ThunderWolves will look to continue its amazing regular season winning streak, which is on track to become on of the top streaks in college football history.

If CSU-Pueblo can improve to 11-0 by defeating Western State this Saturday, it will claim its 37th consecutive regular season win, dating back to 2010.

A win would tie the ThunderWolves with Bentley (Mass.), which won 37 straight regular season games from 1992-95, tying the Pack for the second-longest regular season winning streak in Division II history.  It woudl only trail Grand Valley State (Mich.), which won 48 straight from 2004-09.

CSU-Pueblo lost its last regular season game on Oct. 16, 2010 to Nebraska-Kearney.  Since, the ThunderWolves have won a Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference-record 30 straight games and also currently hold an 16-game regular season home winning streak, all of which are on the line this weekend.

In addition, CSU-Pueblo can become just the second team in NCAA Division II history to turn in three consecutive 11-0 regular seasons, joining the aforementioned Grand Valley State teams from 2004-09.

For reference, the CSU-Pueblo streak is among the longest in all of college football history, regardless of division.  For example, in NCAA Division I, only six schools in history have regular season win streaks of 37 games or longer, topping out at 45 games by Oklahoma from 1953-57.

NCAA Division II Regular Season Win Streaks (since formation of Division II in 1967)

School Streak Years
Grand Valley State (Mich.) 48 2004-09
Bentley (Mass.) 37 1992-95
CSU-Pueblo 36 2010-Present
Valdosta State (Ga.) 35 2000-03
Hillsdale (Mich.) 35 1954-58
Wilkes (Pa.) 32 1965-69
Missouri Valley 32 1946-49
Morgan State (Md.) 31 1965-68
Grand Valley State (Mich.) 30 2000-03
Pittsburg State (Kan.) 56* 1985-91
* Only the final 22 games of Pittsburg State's streak took place while it played a Division II schedule (1989-91).  From 1985-88, it was an NAIA school. Listed for information purposes only.

Source: CSU-Pueblo Athletics, Division II results courtesy of www.michigan-football.com

NCAA Division I Regular Season Win Streaks (1869-Present)

* For reference, CSU-Pueblo's current streak is listed below despite the fact that it is not a Division I school.
School Streak Years
Oklahoma 45 1953-57
Miami (Fla.) 39 2000-03
Yale 38 1887-89
Southern Cal. 38 2003-06
Yale 37 1890-93
Nebraska 37 1992-96
Miami (Fla.) 36 1985-88
CSU-Pueblo* 36 2010-Present
Boise State 35 2008-10
Penn 34 1894-96
Tennessee 33 1937-41
California 33 1947-50
* Source: Sports Reference - College Football (www.sports-reference.com/cfb)