Fox recognized as nominee for Cliff Harris Small College Defensive Player of the Year Award

Fox recognized as nominee for Cliff Harris Small College Defensive Player of the Year Award


LITTLE ROCK, Arkansas (November 26, 2015) – Senior defensive end Morgan Fox (Fountain, Colo.) has been named to the nominee list of the Cliff Harris Award, which recognizes the top defensive player in the country representing Division II, III and NAIA colleges and universities.

Former CSU-Pueblo All-American defensive end Darius Allen was the 2014 winner of the award.

Fox was named a finalist for the Gene Upshaw Division II Lineman of the Year award and Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Defensive Player of the Year last week.

The All-RMAC First Team honoree ranks second nationally in sacks per game with 1.60. In 10 games he has totaled 16.0 sacks (-123 yards is second nationally) to rank second in total sacks (15 solo sacks is second). He sits 13th nationally with 1.9 tackles for loss per game and has totaled 19 tackles for loss resulting in -129 yards (third nationally).

Fox became the school's all-time single-season and career sack leader in the NCAA Division II Playoffs First Round win against University of Indianapolis, as his 16 this season and 35 career sacks, surpassed Allen, who capped his four-year career in 2014 with 34.5 career sacks. He recorded 15.5 sacks in both 2013 and 2014.

During the regular season, Fox was named RMAC Defensive Player of the Week twice and NFFCC Player of the Week once.

The ThunderWolves (No. 4 seed in Super Region Four) travel to Midwestern State University (No. 1 seed in Super Region Four) Saturday, Nov. 28 for a 1 p.m. CST game in the NCAA Division II Playoffs Second Round.


The Little Rock Touchdown Club and Wright, Lindsey & Jennings LLP announced the nominees for the 3rd annual CLIFF HARRIS AWARD. The award is presented to the nation's top small college defensive player representing more than 5,000 defensive players from almost 500 NCAA Division II, Division III and NAIA colleges and universities. A prestigious selection committee made up of former college and pro football greats will select the winner. In addition to the CLIFF HARRIS AWARD overall winner, the top vote getter from each division will also be announced.

Finalists for the award will be released in two weeks and the CLIFF HARRIS AWARD winner will be announced Dec. 24 and honored at the Little Rock Touchdown Club's annual awards banquet in February 2016. The winner will receive the $3,000 CLIFF HARRIS AWARD trophy presented by Cliff Harris. The inaugural winner of the award in 2013 was Lindenwood University cornerback Pierre Desir now with the Cleveland Browns. The 2014 winner was Darius Allen of Colorado State University-Pueblo.

Visit to read more about Cliff's amazing journey from an overlooked high school player from tiny Des Arc, AR, and one scholarship offer to then-NAIA Ouachita Baptist University to five Super Bowls and six Pro Bowls with the Dallas Cowboys.

- 30 -

As a member of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, Colorado State University – Pueblo competes in 22 varsity sports in NCAA Division II intercollegiate athletics.