Fox named runner-up for Gene Upshaw Award

Fox named runner-up for Gene Upshaw Award


MANHEIM, Pa. (December 2, 2015) - Colorado State University-Pueblo football defensive lineman Morgan Fox (Sr., Fountain, Colo.) was voted runner-up for the 2015 Gene Upshaw Division II Lineman of the Year Award, announced Wednesday.

Grand Valley State University senior defensive end Matt Judon earned top honors, tallying 339 votes including receiving a first-place vote on 42 percent of the ballots submitted.

Fox received 290 votes and was one of eight finalists from across four Super Regions. The finalists included a record six defensive linemen and two repeat finalists from 2014.

The Upshaw Award is presented annually to the top NCAA Division II junior or senior offensive or defensive lineman in the nation. Sports information directors from the football-playing Division II institutions comprise the voters.

Fox has earned Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Defensive Player of the Year, all-region first team and All-RMAC First Team recognition this postseason.

The senior is second in the nation in sacks per game with 1.45. In eleven games he has totaled 16.0 sacks to rank second and his 14 solo sacks is second. He is ranked 20th nationally with 1.7 tackles for loss per game and has totaled 19 tackles for loss resulting in -129 yards.

Fox owns 45 tackles (29 solo), has forced and recovered a fumble and has one pass break-up.

During the regular season, Fox was named RMAC Defensive Player of the Week twice and NFFCC Player of the Week once.

He owns the program record for sacks in a season (16) and career (35), as he surpassed two-time Gene Upshaw Award winner, Darius Allen (Upshaw in 2013 and 2014). 

CSU-Pueblo welcomes Judon and Grand Valley State to town for a matchup in the NCAA Division II Quarterfinals Saturday at Neta & Eddie DeRose ThunderBowl. Kickoff is set for noon.

- 30 –

As a member of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, Colorado State University – Pueblo competes in 22 varsity sports in NCAA Division II intercollegiate athletics.