McDondle finishes third in Harlon Hill Trophy voting

McDondle finishes third in Harlon Hill Trophy voting


FLORENCE, Ala. (December 18, 2015) – Colorado State University-Pueblo senior running back Cameron McDondle (Littleton, Colo.) finished third in the voting for the 30th Annual Harlon Hill Trophy as the Division II College Football Player of the Year, Friday, in an announcement from the National Harlon Hill Award Committee. 

McDondle gathered 14 first-place votes and totaled 90 points behind back-to-back winner, quarterback Jason Vander Laan of Ferris State Unviersity (217 points) and running back Ja'Quan Gardner of Humboldt State University (107 points).

The annoucement was made via webstream, which can be replayed by clicking HERE and clicking the "On Demand" tab.


Points Player (Yr, Pos., School) 1st Place - 2nd Place - 3rd Place

217 Jason Vander Laan (SR, QB, Ferris State) 51 - 26 - 12
107 Ja'Quan Gardner (SO, RB, Humboldt State) 14 - 21 - 23
90 Cameron McDondle (SR, RB, CSU-Pueblo) 14 - 15 - 18
58 Brent Wilson (SR, QB, Emporia State) 7 - 10 - 17
58 Matt Soltes (SR, QB, East Stroudsburg) 6 - 12 - 16
33 Luke Wingo (SR, QB, North Alabama) 5 - 5 - 8
30 Jeff Ziemba (SR, QB, Shepherd) 3 - 8 - 5
13 Damian Baker (SR, RB, Carson-Newman) 1 - 4 - 2


Honored as a Harlon Hill Trophy finalist ... AP Little All-America First Team ... D2CCA All-America First Team ... D2CCA All-Super Region Four First Team ... RMAC Offensive Player of the Year and an All-RMAC First Team selection ... Ranks second in NCAA Division II in rushing yards (2,235), rushing yards per game (171.9) and rushing touchdowns (24) ... Sits third nationally in rush yards per carry (7.4), sixth in all-purpose yards (177.85) and 10th in scoring (11.1) ... The yards total in 2015 is a program record, while he also owns the program record for touchdowns in a season (24) and in a career (60) ... Holds the single-season scoring record (144) and Oct. 24 against then-No. 7 Colorado School of Mines, he rushed for 308 yards, a new program best ... His total rushing yards this season ranks eighth on NCAA Division II all-time season yards list, while it is second most on the RMAC single-season chart ... His rushing touchdowns total is fourth in a single season in conference history ... Named NFF-Colorado Chapter Player of the Week three times and RMAC Offensive Player of the Week twice.

Combined with brother Bernard McDondle (RB, Littleton, Colo.) to total 3,674 rushing yards to establish the new NCAA Division II record for most yards gained by two players, same team in a season (Previous record was 3,611 set in 2004 by Pittsburg State) ... As of Nov. 13, led all levels of NCAA in rushing yards (1,943) and rushing touchdowns (24) ... Rushed for 150 or more yards in 11 of 13 games played this season ... Rushed for multiple touchdowns in eight games this season, which includes three touchdowns four times and four rushing scores at Chadron State Oct. 17 (T-9th in DII in 2015) ... Totaled five rushing touchdowns on carries of 70 or more yards ... Reached 1,000 yards in just six games, the fastest in program history.

With 5,951 career rushing yards he is the program's leader, second all-time in the RMAC and 16th all-time in NCAA Division II ... He finished his career with 126.6 yards per game, 56 rushing touchdowns and 6.6 yards per carry (897 carries) ... Rushed for more than 100 yards in 31 career games, which included 10 straight games in 2015 and 23 of the last 25 games


There were 38 nominiees for the 2015 Harlon Hill Trophy as the NCAA Division II College Football Player of the Year. The nominees came from NCAA Division II institution sports information directors. 

Eight finalists, two from each of the four NCAA Super Regions, were selected by the NCAA Division II sports information directors in regional voting and were placed on the national ballot where all 168 of the division's SIDs had an opportunity to select the award's 30th winner.


The Hill Trophy is named for a former University of North Alabama player - the late Harlon Hill - who was a standout with the Lions from 1950-53 before going on to fame in the National Football League with the Chicago Bears.

North Dakota State quarterback Jeff Bentrim won the initial Hill Trophy in 1986, followed by three-time winner - Texas A&I (now Texas A&M-Kingsville) running back Johnny Bailey - in 1987, 1988 and 1989.

Another North Dakota State quarterback, Chris Simdorn, claimed the 1990 award, followed by Pittsburg State receiver Ronnie West in 1991, Pittsburg State running back Ronald Moore in 1992, New Haven running back Roger Graham in 1993, Valdosta State quarterback Chris Hatcher in 1994.

North Alabama linebacker Ronald McKinnon became the first and so far only defensive player to win the award in 1995, followed by Truman State running back Jarrett Anderson in 1996, Bloomsburg University running back Irvin Sigler in 1997, Emporia State running back Brian Shay in 1998 and Northern Colorado quarterback Corte McGuffey in 1999.

The award had its second two-time winner when Valdosta State quarterback Dusty Bonner claimed the Hill Trophy in 2000 and 2001.

Grand Valley State quarterback Curt Anes won the Hill Trophy in 2002, followed by North Alabama quarterback Will Hall in 2003, Colorado School of Mines quarterback Chad Friehauf in 2004 and East Stroudsburg's Jimmy Terwilliger in 2005. Four straight Hill Trophies were won by running backs, beginning with Chadron State's Danny Woodhead in 2006 and 2007. Abilene Christian's Bernard Scott won in 2008, followed by Wayne State (Mich.) running back Joique Bell in 2009.

Central Missouri quarterback Eric Czerniewski was the 2010 Hill winner, followed by Mars Hill running back Jonas Randolph in 2011, Shippensburg's Zach Zulli in 2012, Bloomsburg running back Franklyn Quiteh in 2013 and Ferris State quarterback Jason Vander Laan in 2014.


The ThunderWolves went 12-2 overall for their third 12-plus win season in the last four years. The Pack went a perfect 9-0 for the fourth time in the last five years to earn their fifth consecutive RMAC Championship.

CSU-Pueblo earned the No. 4 seed in the NCAA Playoffs and made its fifth straight appearance in the Division II postseason Nov. 21. The ThunderWolves hosted No. 5-seed University of Indianapolis in the first round and won 27-14, then took to the road for their first-ever true road game in the playoffs. The Pack traveled to No. 1-seed Midwestern State University and downed the Mustangs 26-17 to earn a spot in the quarterfinals for the third time in the last four years. CSU-Pueblo suffered a 31-7 loss to No. 6-seed Grand Valley State University in the game at the Neta and Eddie DeRose ThunderBowl, to close the season and end the defense of the 2014 NCAA Division II National Championship.

- 30 -

As a member of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, Colorado State University – Pueblo competes in 22 varsity sports in NCAA Division II intercollegiate athletics.