Eight individuals, two relay teams qualify for the NCAA Division II Indoor Championships

Eight individuals, two relay teams qualify for the NCAA Division II Indoor Championships


INDIANPOLIS (March 1, 2017) - The Colorado State University-Pueblo men's and women's track and field programs combined to send eight individuals and two relay teams to the 2017 NCAA Division II Indoor Track and Field Championships, as the qualifying lists were posted by the NCAA Tuesday.

The national meet is set for March 9-11 in Birmingham, Alabama at the Birmingham CrossPlex and is one of five championships being celebrated at the NCAA Division II Winter Festival.

Highlighting the list of 12 total Pack student-athletes was the fact that both distance medley relay teams were selected to the championships.

On the men's side, the same foursome that ran to a runner-up finish at the 2015 national championships will line up again with hopes of finishing at the top of the podium. The squad is made up of senior Dante Carter (Las Vegas, Nev.), junior Dueth Vassell (Denver, Colo.), sophomore Devundrick Walker (Aurora, Colo.) and junior Derrick Williams (Columbia Falls, Mont.). The Pack will enter the race with the third fastest time at 9:46.61.

Individually, Carter will run in the mile after he posted an automatic time of 4:02.32. He ranks fourth nationally in the race.

Freshman Paul Roberts (Boulder, Colo.) will race at his first indoor championships, as he and Williams qualified for the 3000m. Roberts enters with the seventh fastest time, while Williams qualified with the 11th best mark in field.

A second freshman qualified for the national meet, as Thomas Staines (Colorado Springs, Colo.) was selected to run in the 800m. His time was good for the 14th best time in the event.

The women's DMR will be made up of sophomore Miriam Roberts (Boulder, Colo.), freshman Taliah Burney (Colorado Springs, Colo.), senior Sydni Riley (Florissant, Colo.) and senior Bailey Hughes (Bigfork, Mont.). The squad enters the championships with the seven fastest time in the field.

Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Indoor Pentathlon Champion Andrea Tuck (Sr., Canon City, Colo.) owns the sixth best point total entering the pentathlon, which she accomplished at the RMAC Championships.

Both the women's DMR and Tuck qualified for last year's NCAA Division II Indoor Championships.

Riley will run the 800m race with the eighth best qualifying time in the field of 17 student-athletes.

Junior Tatianna Clanton (Colorado Springs, Colo.) qualified for her first national championships with a 12th best leap in the long jump.

Finally, Hughes will run the 3000m with the 16th fastest qualifying time in the race.

Both programs finished fifth at the RMAC Championships. The Pack men's team was ranked No. 15 in post conference championships USTFCCCA national poll. The women were just outside the top 25 at No. 35.

– 30 –

As a member of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, Colorado State University – Pueblo competes in 22 varsity sports in NCAA Division II intercollegiate athletics.