Pack Women Earn No. 1 seed, Will Host NCAA South Central Regional

Pack Women Earn No. 1 seed, Will Host NCAA South Central Regional

INDIANAPOLIS (March 5, 2017) –  For the first time in school history, Colorado State University-Pueblo Women's Basketball has earned a No. 1 seed for the NCAA Division II Women's Basketball Tournament. With their No. 1 seed, the ThunderWolves have earned the right to host the NCAA South Central Regional at Massari Arena beginning Friday, March 10.

The Pack will host Tarleton State University Friday at 5:30 p.m. as part of the opening round of the NCAA Tournament. This game between the ThunderWolves and the TexAnns will start the second session of games Friday. The first session at Massari Arena will begin at 12 p.m. and continue at 2:30 p.m. The second session Friday concludes at 7:30 p.m.

Second round action will start Saturday, March 11 at 5 p.m. with two games. The regional championship game will be held at 7 p.m. Monday, March 13.

CSU-Pueblo has now qualified for the NCAA Tournament in each of the last four seasons. Their No. 1 seed is the highest in program history, eclipsing last year's No. 2 seed. The Pack will seek their first NCAA Tournament victory since March 12, 2010 when the No. 7 seeded Pack beat No. 2 seed Wayne State College, 59-48.

Earning the right to host their first NCAA Regional is one of many records and accomplishments set by the 2016-17 ThunderWolves. This season, CSU-Pueblo set a school record with 27 wins and 20 victories in Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference play. The 20 conference wins earned CSU-Pueblo its first RMAC Regular Season Championship since 1987-89. Their 16 wins at home also set a new school record.

The RMAC honored Molly Rohrer (So., Greenwood Village, Colo.) as its Player of the Year. Katie Cunningham (Jr., Aurora, Colo.) was recognized as the RMAC's Defensive Player of the Year. Jim Turgeon received RMAC Coach of the Year honors.

Rohrer became the first RMAC Player of the Year in CSU-Pueblo history. She hopes to set a new single-season blocks record at CSU-Pueblo with five more rejections this season.

Like Rohrer, Tuileisu Anderson (Jr., Vancouver, Wash.) claimed First Team All-RMAC honors for the second consecutive season. Anderson set a CSU-Pueblo single-season record with 77 3-pointers. 

Senior Jaszymn Johnson (Denver, Colo.) received an Honorable Mention All-RMAC nod. Johnson currently ranks 15th in the NCAA in free throw percentage, knocking down 87.2 percent of her shots at the line. If she can maintain this pace, Johnson will set a new Pack record.

Friday's matchup between the Pack and the TexAnns will be a rematch of their game Nov. 19. The ThunderWolves defeated Tarleton State 76-64 at Massari Arena as part of the 33rd Annual Al Kaly Shrine Classic. Anderson scored 28 points in this game.

– 30 –

As a member of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, Colorado State University – Pueblo competes in 22 varsity sports in NCAA Division II intercollegiate athletics.