Pack alum Pipher named Wrestler of the Century

Pack alum Pipher named Wrestler of the Century

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference has named its All-Time Wrestling team, and heading the list is three-time CSU-Pueblo national champion, Chuck Pipher.

Pipher, a four-time all-American with the Pack from 1986-89, won NAIA national championships in 1987, 1988 and 1989 for the ThunderWolves.  Twice he was named the NAIA Most Outstanding Wrestler, and was an RMAC Hall of Fame inductee in 2004.  Pipher is now the head coach at rival school, Mesa State.

"It is quite an honor that the representatives from the schools would pick me," said Pipher. "It is kind of shocking I guess. Especially when you consider the guys out over the last 50 some years, it is an honor."

Pipher is joined by another ThunderWolf on the 12-man all-time team - Chris Currier.

Currier was a three-time NCAA Division II all-American with the Pack, winning the national championship in 1999.  He was a two-time RMAC champion during his three-year stint with the Pack from 1997-99.

The RMAC All-Time Wrestling Team was selected by representatives from the conference's schools that participate in the sport of wrestling. Official records for RMAC wrestling date back to 1972, but it is known that the conference has sponsored the sport of wrestling since at least the 1950s.

Eight schools are represented on the 12-man all-time team. RMAC schools have won 12 national team championships.

To view the RMAC's All-Time Wrestling team, click here.

RMAC All-Time Wrestling Team

MVP - Chuck Pipher, CSU-Pueblo

Tervel Dlagnev, Nebraska-Kearney

Herbert Stanley, Adams State

Mauricio Wright, San Francisco State

Al Rozman, Western State

Roy Washington (Dhafir Muhammad), Neb.-Omaha

Brett Allgood, Nebraska-Kearney

Dan Fix, Colorado Mines

Hector Hernandez, New Mexico Highlands

Chris Currier, CSU-Pueblo

Gene Williams, Western State

Chuck Jean, Adams State

Coach - Tracy Borah, Western State