Four wrestlers earn RMAC postseason awards

Four wrestlers earn RMAC postseason awards

RMAC Wrestling Final Release

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. ( - Mar. 12, 2013) - The Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference released their 2013 All-RMAC teams monday, with four Pack wrestlers making the team. Heavyweight Niko Bogojevic (So., Superior, Wisc.) and 174-pounder Ray Hall (Jr., Garfield, Ark.) highlighted second team honors with 125-pounder Jesse Hillhouse (Sr., Casper, Wyo.) and 165-pounder Trevor Grant (Jr., Winemucca, Nev.) earning third team honors.

Both Hall and Bogojevic enjoyed succesful seasons in their first year with the teams. Hall finished with a 21-16 overall record and was named an All-American after after an eighth place finish at nationals. At one point Hall won five straight dual matches and was only pinned twice as he looked to be a tough foe at 174-pounds.

Bogojevic wrapped up his sophomore season with a 20-17 record and a berth in the National Championship tournament. In addition to never being pinned in 2013, Bogojevic pushed the National Champion and RMAC Wrestler of the Year, Tyrell Fortune of Grand Canyon, to the limit on three different occasions despite losing those matches.

Hillhouse's resume speaks for itself as he recently claimed the National Championship at his weight class. He finished with an impressive 32-4 record, which includes only one loss to a Division II wrestler. The three time RMAC Wrestler of the Week also rattled off 17 straight wins that spanned over two months during the season.

In addition to his dual match accomplishments, Hillhouse was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler at the Cowboy Open, a tournament predominately filled by Division I wrestlers.

Grant wraps up the postseason honors for the Pack, finishing with a 22-20 record and his second straight berth in the National Championship tournament. Grant finished in third place at the Northwest Open after a 4-1 record that saw him lose only one match to Brent Havlik of Wyoming. 

Adams State led the way in postseason awards with six selections. Coach Jason Ramstetter was named the RMAC Coach of the Year and 133-pounder Martin Ramirez was named the RMAC Freshman of the Year. Heavyweight National Champion Tyrell Fortune earned RMAC Wrestler of the Year.