Charles recognized as National Wrestling Hall of Fame-Colorado Chapter College Coach of the Year

Charles recognized as National Wrestling Hall of Fame-Colorado Chapter College Coach of the Year

PUEBLO, Colo. (May 12, 2016) – Colorado State University-Pueblo Head Wrestling Coach Dax Charles was honored as the National Wrestling Hall of Fame-Colorado Chapter College Coach of the Year Saturday at the Eighteenth Annual Hall of Fame Honors Banquet, in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

"I would like to give full credit to my coaching staff and wrestlers for making this happen," Charles said. "Without them finishing the job, this award is not possible. I can't wait until next year to begin the process all over again." 

In 2015-16, Charles guided the ThunderWolves to their best finish at the NCAA Wrestling Championships in 15 years. The Pack crowned three All-Americans and placed 12th, which is the most All-Americans and the best finish since 2001. The Pack sent three wrestlers to the national tournament, touted an NCAA Super Region Four Champion and a Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Champion. CSU-Pueblo's finish at the NCAA Championships was the third best among RMAC schools and second in Colorado to Western State Colorado University (11th). 

Six members of the ThunderWolves were named academic all-conference, guided by Tim Urenda (Sr., Pueblo, Colo.), who was also recognized on the National Wrestling Coaches Association All-Academic Team. 

Charles was assisted in 2015-16 by Mike Roumph (assistant), Ray Hall (assistant), Riley Argyle (student assistant), Eric Hughes (student assistant), Dillon Karajanis (student assistant) and Jimmy Sandoval (volunteer assistant). 

In eight seasons, Charles has coached one national champion (125-pounder Jesse Hillhouse in 2013), nine All-Americans, two regional champions, an RMAC Tournament Champion and 16 national qualifiers. 

Charles is a 2015 CSU-Pueblo Athletics Hall of Fame inductee for his outstanding wrestling career at then-University of Southern Colorado. He was inducted into the NCAA Division II Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2012.


The National Wrestling Hall of Fame and Museum is located in Stillwater, Oklahoma. The mission of the Colorado Chapter of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame, as an extension of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame, is to preserve the heritage of the sport of wrestling, celebrate new achievements and encourage the advancement of the sport in Colorado. The men and women honored by the Hall of Fame include those who have demonstrated a lifetime service to the sport (coaches, officials, contributors), former wrestlers who have distinguished themselves in their occupation and individuals who have exhibited courage in the face of adversity.

From the first banquet in 1999 to the present, the Colorado Chapter has honored the most deserving contributors to the sport of wrestling in Colorado. There are many individuals that deserve to be honored by this organization. Any person may nominate individuals for award consideration. The Board of Directors selects the award recipients. 

The future of the Colorado Chapter depends on the support of the wrestling community in the state of Colorado. People interested in serving on the Board of Directors or wish to contribute in other ways are encouraged to contact a member of the Board of Directors for further information.


As a member of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, Colorado State University – Pueblo competes in 22 varsity sports in NCAA Division II intercollegiate athletics.