Young wins on senior night as Pack cap home dual season with 37-3 win

Young wins on senior night as Pack cap home dual season with 37-3 win


PUEBLO, Colo. (February 8, 2017) - The No. 15 Colorado State University-Pueblo wrestling team honored four seniors before the final home dual of the season Wednesday where the ThunderWolves defeated Colorado School of Mines, 37-3.

Senior Phil Young (Casper, Wyo.) wrestled to a 14-7 victory in his bout at 184. The other three seniors honored were Kyle Bateman (174, Sandy, Ore.), Augie DeSantis (285, Escondido, Calif.) and Sam Hughes (141, Bolivar, Mo.).

Bateman was also recognized as the Grant Inegrity Award winner, which is given annual to the CSU-Pueblo wrestler who demonstrates integrity at all times, high character traits, leadership skills and own a GPA of 3.0 or above.

Colorado Mines didn't wrestle anyone at 174 or 285 to hand the Pack an immediate 12 point lead. After decision victories by 125 Josiah Seaton (So., Bonner Springs, Kan.) and 133 Levi Maes (R-So., Englewood, Colo.), Clay Archer (R-So., Broken Arrow, Okla.) turned in a technical fall victory (20-4) to had the ThunderWolves a 23-3 lead. 

Kyle Fantin (R-So., Crave Creek, Ariz.) added a 5-1 decision win at 157 before Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference 165 Champion, JaCobi Jones (Jr., Omaha, Neb.) recorded a major decision (15-5) to increase the lead to 30-3.

Young won his 184 match, then Steven Ullman (R-So., Arvada, Colo.) capped the rout with an 11-3 major decision.

The ThunderWolves finish the dual season at Adams State University Thursday at 7 p.m. and at Chadron State College Saturday at 7 p.m.


As a member of the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference, Colorado State University – Pueblo competes in 22 varsity sports in NCAA Division II intercollegiate athletics.